Graduate Student Recruitment Day

Hiking in the New Hampshire White Mountains

Each year prospective students visit Northeastern University to interview with the Biology Department faculty and learn more about this program. I remember my ‘Interview Day’ vividly. It was very intimidating! It was also really helpful because I was able to speak to current graduate students also, and get a feel for what life is like as a graduate student here. I still remember some of my conversations with students on that day, some of whom I am now pretty good friends with.

Volunteer Scientist with The Science Club for Girls

This year I was faced with the challenge of having to give a talk to the prospective students and give them the highlights of life here at Northeastern. I emailed all of the current graduate students to send me photos of the activities they’ve participated in, and I was pretty surprised by the responses I received. I ended up getting several dozen photos of students snow tubing, attending NEU hockey games, visiting local breweries, running in marathons, volunteering with local youth science programs, learning to make dumplings, hiking 5,000 ft mountains, iceskating at the Boston Commons, and the list goes on. I’ve put up a couple of my favorites for you to check out!

Ice Skating in the Boston Commons
Traditional New England Clambake
Leave a Reply

