Not all marine biologists study whales…

On Thursday (little late on the post, it was a busy weekend) I was interviewed by a middle school student who wants to be a marine biologist when she grows up. It was part of a student career exploration and writing program called 826 Boston, going on in Boston Public Schools. I volunteered for the program because I think its important to show people (especially budding marine scientists) that marine biology is a very broad field and not all of us study “charismatic megafauna” like whales and seals. When we started, she told me her favorite marine animals were whales, so I got a little worried that she might be bored by my stories of collecting snails and seaweed. However, once the interview got underway she seemed pretty interested, and came up with some pretty tough questions, like “What is your favorite seaweed?”. After some thought, I had to go with kelp, because of the huge diversity of life that kelp forests support. Overall it was a fun experience and I hope she enjoyed it as much as I did.
Leave a Reply

